Faculty Directory

GHI Director


Steffanie Strathdee

Harold Simon Professor of Medicine

Chief, Division of Global Public Health

Associate Dean for Global Health Sciences

Co-Director, International Core of the UCSD Center for AIDS Research (CFAR)

E-mail Address: sstrathdee@ucsd.edu

Phone: (858) 822-1952(858) 822-1952

Web Page: https://profiles.ucsd.edu/steffanie.strathdee

GHI Co-Directors


Joshua Graff Zivin

Associate Professor of School of Global Policy and Strategy

Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

Research Director for International Environmental and Health Studies at the Institute on Global Conflict and Cooperation (IGCC).

E-mail Address: jgraffzivin@ucsd.edu

Phone: (858) 822-6438(858) 822-6438

Web Page: http://gps.ucsd.edu/faculty-directory/joshua-graff-zivin.html

Thomas Csordas

Dr. James Y. Chan Presidential Chair in Global Health

Professor and Chair, Anthropology

E-mail Address: tcsordas@ucsd.edu

Phone: (858) 822-6588(858) 822-6588

Web Page: http://anthropology.ucsd.edu/people/faculty/faculty-profiles/thomas-csordas.html

Participating Faculty


Sameh Ali

Assistant Adjunct Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Geriatrics
E-mail Address: ssali@ucsd.edu
Phone:(858) 534-7956


Connie Benson

Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: cbenson@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619) 543-8080

Web Page: https://profiles.ucsd.edu/constance.benson


Prashant Bharadwaj

Assistant Professor of Economics
E-mail Address: prbharadwaj@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858)822-6760

Stephen Bickler

Associate Clinical Professor, Surgery & Pediatrics
E-mail Address: sbickler@ucsd.edu


Kimberly Brouwer

Associate Professor, Global Public Health
E-mail Address: kbrouwer@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-6467


Joseph Caperna

Clinical Professor, Medicine, Owen Clinic
E-mail Address: jcaperna@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619)543-3995


Mario Chojkier

Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: mchojkier@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 552-8585


Bruno Cotter

Assistant Clinical Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: bcotter@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619) 543-8213


Alberto Diaz-Cayeros

Associate Professor, School of Global Policy and Strategy
E-mail Address: adiazcayeros@ucsd.edu


David Fitzgerald

Associate Professor, Sociology
E-mail Address: dsfitzgerald@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 534-4758


Fonna Forman

Associate Professor of Political Science
E-mail Address: ffb@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-3868


Sheila Gahagan

Division Chief, Professor of Clinical Pediatrics
E-mail Address: sgahagan@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 246-0050


Richard Garfein

Associate Professor, Global Public Health
E-mail Address: rgarfein@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-3018


William Gerwick

Professor, School of Pharmacy/Pharmacological Science
E-mail Address: wgerwick@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 534-0578


David Granet

Clinical Professor, Ophthalmology
E-mail Address: dgranet@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 534-7440


Barry Greenberg

Professor, Medicine & Director of Advanced Heart Failure Treatment Program
E-mail Address: bgreenberg@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619) 543-7751


Kenneth Herbst

Clinical Professor, Medicine & Director of Hematology
E-mail Address: kdherbst@ucsd.edu
Phone:(619) 471-0336


Anthony Horner

Associate Adjunct Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: ahorner@ucsd.edu
Phone:(858) 534-543


Janis Jenkins

Professor, Anthropology
E-mail Address: jhjenkins@ucsd.edu
Phone:(858) 534-6468


Scott Letendre

Associate Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: sletendre@ucsd.edu
Phone:(619) 543-8080


Gerry Mackie

Associate Professor of Political Scienc
e
E-mail Address: gmackie@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 534-7015


Anthony Martinez

Assistant Clinical Professor, Internal Medicine
E-mail Address: adm003@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 657-8000


Craig McIntosh

Assistant Professor, School of Global Policy and Strategy
E-mail Address: ctmcintosh@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-1125


Victoria Ojeda

Assistant Professor, Global Public Health
E-mail Address: vojeda@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-6165


Thomas Patterson

Professor, Psychiatry
E-mail Address: tpatterson@ucsd.edu
Phone:(858) 534-3354
Web Page: http://psychiatry.ucsd.edu/research/Alzcare/Pages/StaffBios.aspx


Keith Pezzoli

Director of Field Research and a Lecturer in the Urban Studies and Planning Program at the University of California, San Diego
E-mail Address: kpezzoli@ucsd.edu


Anita Raj

Professor, Global Public Health
E-mail Address: anitaraj@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-0229


Robin Ryder

Clinical Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: rryder@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619) 543-5994


Robert Schooley

Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: rschooley@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-0216


Jay Silverman

Professor, Global Public Health
E-mail Address:


Mounir Soliman

Clinical Service Chief of the Department of Psychiatry
E-mail Address: msoliman@ucsd.edu


Shankar Subramaniam

Professor of Bioengineering, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Medicine and Nano Engineering & Chair of the Bioengineering Department at the University of California at San Diego
E-mail Address: shankar@sdsc.edu


Robert Sullivan

Founding dean of UCSD's Rady School of Management
E-mail Address: rssullivan@ucsd.edu


Rolando Viani

Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Division of Infectious Diseases
E-mail Address: rviani@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619) 471-9177


Joseph Vinetz

Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: jvinetz@ucsd.edu


Gabriele Wienhausen

Associate Dean for Education in the Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail Address: gwienhausen@ucsd.edu


María Luisa Zúñiga

Associate Professor, School of Social Work, SDSU
E-mail Address: mlzuniga@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: